Awkward Angels and the Magic of Kindness

How a homeless person taught me an important lesson.

Eira Braun-Labossiere 🌻
4 min readFeb 24, 2020

Today’s writing challenge is more of a challenge to my memory banks but I fumbled around my brain to rediscover a funny little life incident.

My writing challenge for the day:

“Write something that someone told you about yourself that you never forgot.”

Like many of you, I was raised to be humble. One does not boast of their accomplishments or feel too proud or (heaven forbid) feel overtly confident about one’s appearance. That’s just downright vanity! I grew up in a very conservative community that emphasized the philosophy of modesty and humility. Actually no, I would say more than being emphasized, it was quietly insisted upon. And to be on the safe side of vanity avoidance, it was commonly practiced to never believe or accept a compliment (or at least to be highly skeptical about one).

Fast forward to my 30’s: my husband and I are living near a small prairie city and I am working for a graphic design company in sales. Even though it was a small office, I would dress professionally. No one ever made me feel bad about myself, but my self-consciousness of not measuring up to what I thought I should look like was always a little nagging internal voice. I know I’m not special for feeling…

--

--

Eira Braun-Labossiere 🌻

English major. Writes about greyhounds + lurchers, things that bother her & little wonders that delight. Proud Rotarian!âš™ #bigskylife